My Favorite New Album

September 9, 2013

Vampire Weekend’s newest album, Modern Vampires of the City, is my favorite album of the year.  I did not expect this to happen given that The National came out with Trouble Will Find Me around the same time.  And yes, I realize The Arcade Fire is coming out with a new album in October that will possibly (hopefully?) blow everything else out of contention, but until October, I cannot stop listening to Vampire Weekend.  The first listen through, “Step” was hands down my favorite song, with the line, “The gloves are off, the wisdom teeth are out” echoing over and over in my head on a train up to Madison, CT.


Then, “Unbelievers” took its place, and I tested my Fender speakers in my new Jetta by blasting “Want a little grace but who’s going to say a little grace for me?” driving home.

Finally, “Hannah Hunt” has been my soundtrack while reacquainting myself with the streets of Minneapolis: “If I can’t trust you, then damn it Hannah, there is no future; there is no answer.”

If you haven’t already, give the album a listen.  I think even those who aren’t usually Vampire Weekend fans will be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a comment